IMD-Lombard Odier Global Family Business Award

Since 1996, the IMD-Lombard Odier Global Family Business Award has distinguished prestigious family businesses around the world from a variety of sectors on an annual basis.

Awarded by IMD, one of the world’s leading business schools, and Lombard Odier & Cie, one of the main private banking firms in Europe, the award provides a unique opportunity to promote the indispensible role family businesses play in the global economy. The award, which is regarded by many as the most prestigious distinction for successful family businesses, also serves as a platform for family businesses to exchange best practices and analyze the economic backdrop.


In selecting the award winner, a panel of independent jury experts examines different aspects of the family business.

Careful consideration is given to the personalities and values of the people who run the business, the way in which they unite their family and business interests and combine tradition and innovation while demonstrating a clear commitment to their local communities. The Award is based on excellence in the following areas:

Family Values

  • Adherence to shared vision across generations
  • Active collaboration across generations
  • Faithfulness to values and the transfer of heritage
  • Reinforcement of core family and business values
  • Loyalty to employees, shareholders, clients, suppliers, and the community
  • Company family-owned for at least three generations.

Business Values

  • Excellence in performance standards
  • Dominance of family values
  • Growing and profitable company
  • International presence
  • Personal, hands-on involvement of several members of the family
  • Minimum annual revenues of USD 500M


  • Excellence in governance – selection, development, independence, consolidation of family relations
  • Expertise passed on within the family
  • Ability to adapt over time and through the generations
  • Preparation, engagement, education of next generation

Past Award Recipients

Past award recipients have been selected for their outstanding success. They provide inspiration to their peers through their exemplary governance, the involvement of several generations and a clear, long-term social commitment.


The Firmenich Group, Switzerland


The Odebrecht Organization, Brazil


The Merck Group, Germany


Roca Corporacion Empresarial, Spain


Yazaki Corporation, Japan


The Lopez Group Foundation, Philippines


The Ivey Foundation, Canada


The Fundacio Lluis Carulla, Brazil


The Votorantim Group, Brazil


The Barilla Group, Italy


The Bonnier Group, Sweden


The S.C. Johnson Family Ets, USA


The Murugappa Group, India


The Zegna Group, Italy


The Henkel Group, Germany


Corporacion Puig, Spain


Hermes SA, France


The Lego Group, Denmark